Introduction to 3D Modeling

My first encounter with 3D Modeling was interesting as it had its ups and downs with how I almost found out every problem that could go wrong when wanting to create my own type of space ship. Maya at first is a surprisingly simple with it having great visuals as results. At first I was experimenting with the shapes that I can use, so I created a cube of which I then tested the freedom and creativity of the shape.

After creating the cube I then discovered an Extrude button that made one specific face of my cube the option to extend and change the size of the new duplicated shape that was made identical thanks to the Extrude tool. I then created the front end of the space ship by moving the adjustable cubes on the angles to make the cockpit part of the ship more pointed and triangular shaped whilst the extrude tool made sure it was connected and the same size and length as the main body of the ship. At that stage I made a easy mistake that was because I pressed the Extrude button more times on the same face which damaged the structure of ship.

At that stage I hadn’t made that many mistakes even though I didn’t have any previous experience in any 3D modeling software. As I gradually then started to make some wings of which I encountered the same mistake of an over obsessive amount of clicks on the extrude button.

I then continued creating the wings by maneuvering the ends of the wings to create a more arched and pitchfork like shape to the front of the ship. In addition I added an engine type area at the back of the ship and a lower cannon at the bottom of the ship as they were all created because of the Extrude tool as they used the same feature and each have a similar way of being made.

Screenshot (2)

Then at the end of my creation of my space ship I had the idea of making the ship look aesthetically pleasing by adding colour. I added colour to certain parts of my ship by right clicking on it, to then go on assign favorite material to then go on blinn so I could change the colour on one of the colour wheels to change the main body of the ship and wings to red, also i changed the colour of the lower cannon, with the engine and inside cannon part to the colour orange to represent power. I am happy with how my first session/creation went saying I had no previous experience and had no defiant idea of how I wanted the space ship to look.

 

Leave a comment